A serious collision can be a traumatic event—particularly if you have to deal with extensive injuries, fatalities or expensive property damage. The situation becomes even more complicated when the other driver in the accident does not have adequate insurance to cover the damages. If that is the case, you still have some options, and if you are familiar with the various alternatives, you may be able to recover compensation.
Contact a Personal-Injury Lawyer
If you are suffering from injuries you sustained in a serious crash, contact an Omaha personal-injury lawyer from Rensch & Rensch Law. We have more than 45 years of combined legal experience, and together, we have litigated more than 100 jury trials. Call us today at 1-800-471-4100 to schedule an appointment with an expert to discuss your case.
Here are three frequently asked questions regarding crashes that involve uninsured or underinsured drivers:
- When is an uninsured motor vehicle a concern?
According to DMV.org, there are at least three possible cases when an uninsured motor vehicle becomes a concern within the state of Nebraska. Issues can arise when there is no bodily injury liability coverage at the time of a crash, when the insurer denies the bodily injury liability coverage, or when the insurer is bankrupt and unable to cover the costs.
Issues can also arise when an unknown driver causes injuries to another person or damages property. This is particularly problematic when the owner of the car is not traceable and essentially commits a “hit-and-run.”
- What is an underinsured vehicle?
There is a specific act that deals with uninsured and underinsured drivers under Nebraska state law. The definition of an underinsured motor vehicle is a car that does not have sufficient insurance to cover a serious accident.
In these circumstances, the limits may be too low to compensate the victim. The victim must then cover the shortfall on his or her own, or make an alternate financial arrangement.
There is a minimum insurance coverage level in the state of Nebraska. Drivers need to have the following liability coverage minimums:
- $25,000 for bodily injury, per person
- $25,000 for property damage
- $50,000 for total bodily injury if the accident hurts multiple people
In many cases, these coverage levels cannot pay for the medical costs associated with a serious crash. If that is the case, the at-fault driver will be responsible for covering the difference.
- When should you contact a personal-injury lawyer?
A personal-injury lawyer will be able to address concerns about underinsured or uninsured vehicles in the event of a collision. If you have specific questions pertaining to this aspect of the law, you should consult an expert.
At the same time, if you are suffering from injuries you sustained in a crash, consider contacting an Omaha personal-injury attorney for advice. At Rensch & Rensch Law, we can evaluate your case and determine if you have a valid claim for medical expenses or lost wages. Call us today at 1-800-471-4100 to schedule an appointment.