Distracted driving is a big concern for law enforcement and traffic safety officials across the United States. In Nebraska, police are particularly concerned about the prevalence of cellphone use while driving, and the consequences for texting or talking on a phone while driving are severe. Penalties aside, the risk of causing serious injury or death while texting and driving should be reason enough not to do it.
If you are suffering from car crash injuries caused by a negligent or distracted driver, you could benefit from contacting an Omaha personal-injury lawyer for advice. Rensch & Rensch Law is an established Nebraska firm that specializes in auto accidents and personal-injury cases, and we have more than 45 years of combined legal experience. Call us today at 800-471-4100 to schedule an appointment to discuss your case, and read on for everything you need to know about texting and driving in Nebraska.
Nebraska Cellphone Laws
The National Conference of State Legislatures believes that the increased use of cellphones while driving is fueling the debate regarding just how distracting cellphones can be for drivers. Each state has its own laws regarding cellphone use while driving. In Nebraska, there is a cellphone ban for drivers with a learner’s permit, as well as new license holders who are younger than 18.
There is also a texting ban for all drivers. These bans are in line with others across the United States. No state bans all use of cellphones for all drivers, but the majority ban use by novice and young drivers, and nearly all states have a ban on texting while driving.
Enforcing the Bans
According to DMV.org, if Nebraska police catch you texting while driving, you will be liable to pay a fine that increases with the first three offenses. First-time offenders face a fine of up to $200; second-time offenders, up to $300; and all subsequent offenses have a fine of $500. At the same time, the guilty driver will lose three points against his or her license.
In Nebraska, courts consider texting and cellphone laws as secondary laws. This means a police officer can only pull over a driver and issue a ticket if he or she has witnessed an additional violation, such as running a traffic light or speeding while texting.
If you are suffering from injuries sustained in a car crash, you may be entitled to compensation from the negligent driver. Contact a Nebraska personal-injury attorney today to discuss your case and establish if you have a valid claim. At Rensch & Rensch Law, we have litigated more than 100 jury trials, and if we do not win, you pay no attorneys fees.
As a victim of a car crash, you may be able to claim back any medical expenses or lost wages that you incurred because of the crash. Call us today at 800-471-4100 to discuss your case.