Is It Illegal Not to Call the Police after a Car Accident?
Nebraska law requires drivers to report car accidents in certain situations. You must report a collision if a person died or sustained injuries, or if the crash appears to have caused at least $1,000 in property damage. If you do not call the police, you must report the crash to the Nebraska Department of Roads within 10 days.
If you do not report the accident, you may be charged with a Class V misdemeanor and face a $100 fine. Also, the insurance company will most likely dispute your claim if there is no accident report.
Regardless of the law, it is always a good idea to call the police after a collision. If you decide to file a personal injury claim, the police report may help you or your attorney prove that the other driver is liable for your damages.
Reporting the collision is just one step in the personal injury claims process. You will also have to gather evidence to prove negligence, liability, and the value of your damages. In addition to medical records, tax returns, and photos of the crash scene, you may also need testimonies from medical experts, financial experts, and accident reconstruction experts to support your claim.
This is where an injury attorney can help. An Omaha accident lawyer from Rensch & Rensch Law can evaluate your case, gather evidence, interview witnesses, and help you fight for the maximum settlement. If your case goes to trial, our attorneys have the litigation experience to represent your interests in court. Call 1-800-471-4100 today to schedule a free consultation.
What Should I Do at the Scene of a Car Accident?
It may seem impossible to focus after a serious wreck, but your statements and actions at the crash scene can have a profound impact on the outcome of your personal injury claim. Let’s examine six steps you should take immediately after a collision:
- Look for Injuries: Your top priority after any accident is to seek medical attention. If anyone was injured, call the police and request emergency medical assistance.
- Take Photos: Pictures of the crash scene can help your attorney prove negligence and liability. Take photos that show your injuries, property damage, traffic signs, the positions of vehicles, and skid marks.
- Call the Police: As previously mentioned, you will need an accident report to file a personal injury claim. This report will contain important details about your collision such as the time, date, location, and whether there were injuries or property damage.
- Talk to Witnesses: Eyewitnesses may have seen the events that led to your wreck. Your lawyer may use their testimonies to prove negligence and liability.
- Gather the Contact and Insurance Information of All Drivers Involved: You will need this information to file a claim.
- Call an Injury Attorney: An accident lawyer can help you avoid costly mistakes such as accepting a settlement too early, making a recorded statement to the insurance adjuster, or overlooking future damages.
If you were hurt in a collision with a negligent motorist, contact Rensch & Rensch Law. Our attorneys have litigated more than 100 jury trials, and we will relentlessly fight for the best possible outcome for your case. Call 1-800-471-4100 to arrange a free consultation with an injury attorney in Omaha.